Wednesday, June 06, 2007

New Testament

Christ on the Mount of Olives with the angel holding the cup (suffering)That portion of the Bible containing the life and teachings of Christ, including the gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, the Pauline epistles, the General epistles, and the Revelation of John.
The New Testament (Καινή Διαθήκη), sometimes called the Greek Testament or Greek Scriptures, and sometimes also New Covenant (which is the more accurate translation of the original Greek), is the name given to the part of the Christian Bible that was written by various authors c. AD 48–140 and gradually collected into a single volume over the next few centuries. Some minor groups commonly refer to the New Testament as the B'rit Chadashah, Hebrew for New Covenant, or the Apostolic Writings.

The New Testament is twenty-seven separate works: the four narratives of Jesus Christ's ministry, called "Gospels"; a narrative of the Apostles' ministries, which is also a sequel to the third Gospel; twenty-one early letters, commonly called "epistles" in Biblical context, which were written by various authors and consisted mostly of Christian counsel and instruction; and an Apocalyptic prophecy, which is also technically the twenty-second epistle.

No comments:




Blog Archive

Desiring God Blog

Youth for Christ International