Saturday, February 09, 2008

The Plagues of Egypt

Moses and Aaron before Pharoah by Gustov Doré The Plagues of Egypt (Hebrew: מכות מצרים, Makot Mitzrayim), the Biblical Plagues or the Ten Plagues (עשר המכות, Eser Ha-Makot) are the ten calamities inflicted upon Egypt by God in the Biblical story recounted the book of Exodus, chapters 7 - 12, in order to convince Pharaoh (possibly Ramesses II, making the pharaoh of the Oppression Djeserkheperure Horemheb) to let the Israelite slaves leave. (see also Pharaoh of the Exodus).

The plagues as they appear in the Torah are:
  1. (Exodus 7:14-25) rivers and other water sources turned to blood ('Dam')

  2. (Exodus 7:26-8:11) amphibians (commonly believed to be frogs) ('Tsfardeia')

  3. (Exodus 8:12-15) lice ('Kinim')

  4. (Exodus 8:16-28) Either flies, wild animals or beetles ('Arov')

  5. (Exodus 9:1-7) disease on livestock ('Dever')

  6. (Exodus 9:8-12) unhealable boils ('Shkhin')

  7. (Exodus 9:13-35) hail mixed with fire ('Barad')

  8. (Exodus 10:1-20) locusts ('Arbeh')

  9. (Exodus 10:21-29) darkness ('Choshech')

  10. (Exodus 11:1-12:36) death of the firstborn ('Makat Bechorot')

    see also: Passover


No comments:




Blog Archive

Desiring God Blog

Youth for Christ International