Monday, April 09, 2007


A Sefer Torah opened for liturgical use in a synagogue service Torah (תּוֹרָה) is a Hebrew word meaning "teaching," "instruction," or "law." It is the central and most important document of Judaism revered by Jews through the ages. It is written in Hebrew, the oldest Jewish language. It is also called the Law of Moses (Torat Moshe תּוֹרַת־מֹשֶׁה).

Torah primarily refers to the first section of the Tanakh–the first five books of the Hebrew Bible, but the term is sometimes also used in the general sense to also include both of Judaism's written law and oral law, encompassing the entire spectrum of authoritative Jewish religious teachings throughout history, including the Mishnah, the Talmud, the Midrash, and more.

The five books and their names and pronunciations in original Hebrew are as follows:

  1. Genesis (בראשית, Bereshit: "In the beginning...")
  2. Exodus (שמות, Shemot: "Names")
  3. Leviticus (ויקרא, Vayyiqra: "And he called...")
  4. Numbers (במדבר, Bammidbar: "In the wilderness..."), and
  5. Deuteronomy (דברים, Devarim: "Words", or "Discourses")


No comments:




Blog Archive

Desiring God Blog

Youth for Christ International