Saturday, September 24, 2011

Tribes Of Israel

Israel had 12 sons, as follows: Reuben, (ראובן Rĕ'uwben, Jacob's firstborn); Simeon, (שמעון Shim`own); Levi, (לוי Leviy); Judah, (יהודה Yĕhuwdah); Dan, (דן Dan); Naphtali, (נפתלי Naphtaliy); Gad, גד( Gad); Asher, (אשר 'Asher); Issachar, (יששכר Yissaskar); Zebulun, (זבולון Zĕbuwluwn); Joseph, (יוסף Yowceph); –Manasseh, (מנשה Mĕnashsheh); Ephraim, (אפרים 'Ephrayim);– and Benjamin (בנימין Binyamiyn). (Jacob was renamed Israel Gen. 32:27-29)

Yĕhowshuwa` (יְהוֹשׁוּעַ)
Lion Of Judah
(King of Kings)
The Tribe of Levi was set apart from the others in the sense that, the members of the Tribe of Levi were to be in charge of the tabernacle of the Testimony.
The Tribe of Joseph is not usually listed with the Hebrew tribes although Joseph is one of Jacobs twelve sons, the eldest of Rachel. It is sometimes referred to as the House of Joseph. Rather, the two tribes founded by his sons Ephraim and Manasseh are listed separately.


No comments:




Blog Archive

Desiring God Blog

Youth for Christ International