Saturday, July 31, 2010

The Prophets

The Major prophets:
Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and Daniel
each originally depicted on the fresco
on the Sistine Chapel ceiling. (date:1509)
Books of the Old Testament referred to as: "The Prophets"

Former Prophets
  • Joshua or Yehoshua [יהושע]
  • Judges or Shoftim [שופטים]
  • Samuel or Shmu'el [שמואל]
  • Kings or Melakhim [מלכים]

Latter Prophets
  • Isaiah or Yeshayahu [ישעיהו]
  • Jeremiah or Yirmiyahu [ירמיהו]
  • Lamentations [מגילת איכה]
  • Ezekiel or Yehezq'el [יחזקאל]
  • Daniel or Daniye'l [דניאל]

Major Prophets
A major prophet is a book in the Major Prophets section of the Christian Old Testament in the Bible. The term "major prophet" is typically a Christian term as the Jewish Hebrew Bible does not group these books together and does not even include the deuterocanonical Book of Baruch. The closest analogous grouping in the Hebrew Bible is the "Prophets" or Nevi'im. The Christian major prophets in order of occurrence in the Christian Bible are:

  • Isaiah
  • Jeremiah
  • Lamentations, also known as the Lamentations of Jeremiah
  • Ezekiel
  • Daniel (listed with the Ketuvim in the Hebrew Bible).


No comments:




Blog Archive

Desiring God Blog

Youth for Christ International