Friday, August 03, 2007

Plagues of Egypt

Moses and Aaron before Pharoah by Gustov DoréThe Plagues of Egypt (Hebrew: מכות מצרים, Makot Mitzrayim), the Biblical Plagues or the Ten Plagues (עשר המכות, Eser Ha-Makot) are the ten calamities inflicted upon Egypt by God in the Biblical story recounted the book of Exodus, chapters 7 - 12, in order to convince Pharaoh (possibly Ramesses II, making the pharaoh of the Oppression Horemheb) to let the Israelite slaves leave.

The 10 plagues as they appear in the Torah are:

  1. (Exodus 7:14-25) rivers and other water sources turned to blood ('Dam')
  2. (Exodus 7:26-8:11) amphibians (commonly believed to be frogs) ('Tsfardeia')
  3. (Exodus 8:12-15) lice ('Kinim')
  4. (Exodus 8:16-28) Either flies, wild animals or beetles ('Arov')
  5. (Exodus 9:1-7) disease on livestock ('Dever')
  6. (Exodus 9:8-12) unhealable boils ('Shkhin')
  7. (Exodus 9:13-35) hail mixed with fire ('Barad')
  8. (Exodus 10:1-20) locusts ('Arbeh')
  9. (Exodus 10:21-29) darkness ('Choshech')
  10. (Exodus 11:1-12:36) death of the firstborn ('Makat Bechorot')


No comments:




Blog Archive

Desiring God Blog

Youth for Christ International